Go Back   FreestyleMTX - #1 in FMX > FreestyleMTX General

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 12th, 2010, 08:45 AM   #1
The Snitz
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 236
Indonesian International FMX Competition

Lightning Productions and Invert Management presents

Surya 12 MotoRiders Indonesian International FMX Championship

History will be made on November 13th in Indonesian motorsport with the very first International Freestyle Motocross competition taking place in the tourist island of Bali, Indonesia. With an international field of riders, Denpasar will play host to a competition that promises to heat the crowd up.

In the hot and humid conditions of Bali, an international cast of Freestyle pilots will fight the weather conditions to take home the inaugural title of Indonesian FMX Champion. At 32 degrees Celsius and 90% humidity, the Indonesian tropical conditions will play a big part in which rider’s can deal with the heat to perform the best.

With riders from Australia, New Zealand, United States of America and Indonesia, the Indonesian Freestyle MX competition will be a great addition to the racing in conjunction with the Indonesian Powercross series. The Surya 12 Motoriders has come a long way now by promoting a full cast of international riders in both the Supercross racing and the Freestyle Motocross competition.

The riders include Australian Steve Sommerfeld who has won the Farm Jam competition in New Zealand, 2008 and 2nd overall in FreeriderMX Magazine’s Rider of the Year. Joe Sheppard is the FreeriderMX Magazine’s rider of the year winner in 2009, and America’s Greg Schaaf who recently took 2nd place in the new AFMXA competition in the United States. Australian’s Pete Anderson, Jason Rozycki and Ryan Apps are also competing with the New Zealand rider Mitch McHardy who has spent the past 6 weeks touring through Indonesia and performing shows for Powercross.

To join the international riders, the Indonesia FMX riders will include Alex Wiguna Putra and Pedro Wuner. With good results in last year’s only Freestyle competition, Alex and Pedro are aiming to show the skills of the local Indonesian freestyle scene in 2010 by competing against the international riders.

Australia’s Steve Sommerfeld is looking forward to the tight competition on Saturday night. “We have worked with the promoter’s of Surya 12 Motoriders Powercross and have come up with a way to incorporate Freestyle Motocross into a big competition. The Indonesian people are huge fans of the freestyle shows at each round and it’s awesome to give them a chance to see a real competition” Sommerfeld said.

“With an international field of riders, we hope to make this the first of many more competitions in Indonesia. I have taken a win in an international competition before, and I’d like to take another this weekend in Bali.”

The Freestyle MX competition will take place on November 13th at 6pm at Lapangan Hayam Wuruk, Denpasar in Bali, Indonesia.

For more information regarding the Indonesian Powercross visit: www.surya12motoriders

For information regarding Indonesian International FMX competition:

The Snitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2010, 06:32 PM   #2
The Snitz
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 236

With scorching temperatures and high humidity, the first Indonesian International FMX competition supported by Surya12 Motoriders has crowned the first winner in the South East Asian island archipelago with Mitch McHardy taking the honours ahead of Australian Joe Sheppard and American rider Greg Schaaf.

There was nothing between the top riders and in the end Mitch McHardy’s backflip would be the clincher. Mitch only managed to just muscle his RMZ 250 4 stroke machine around for a rotation which had the crowd on the edge of their seats.

In qualifying, Steve Sommerfeld was placed in first, followed by Greg Schaaf, Joe Sheppard and Jason Rozycki with only a few points separating the group. Ryan Apps and Pete Anderson rounded out the qualifying of the international riders ahead of gallant efforts from the local Indonesian riders Alex Wiguna, Pedro Wuner and Andrie Sondakh who finished out the top 10 riders. Andrie showed some very impressive whips while Alex continued to improve and show why he is Indonesia’s best FMX rider.

As the sun slowly fell behind the main stage area, the finals of the Freestyle competition began with the high energy mix of fireworks, local Balinese crowd and holidaying adventure-seeking tourists. Rozycki and Schaaf left nothing to the chance by putting everything on the line, while Joe Sheppard turned the volume up on the crowd with his huge although effortless looking whip no-handers.

The end of the night came with a crashing end, with first qualifier Steve Sommerfeld knowing he needed to extend all of his tricks perfectly to hold onto the first position. But after a full day of dehydration from the unbearable heat, Steve was already feeling ill before his run but decided to ride for the win.

Unfortunately a simple mistake on his Double Nac would be his demise, with just having his foot get stuck on the seat while coming back down for landing. Unable to breathe Steve was taken to a local Indonesian hospital for internal bleeding tests and the curtain was drawn on the Indonesian International FMX Championships.


1st Mitch McHardy NZ
2nd Joe Sheppard AUS
3rd Greg Schaaf USA
4th Jason Rozycki AUS
5th Ryan Apps AUS
6th Steve Sommerfeld AUS
7th Pete Anderson AUS
8th Alex Wiguna Putra ID
9th Pedro Wuner ID
10th Andrie Sondakh ID

A huge thanks to all the riders who came to Indonesia for the competition, I hope you all had a great time! Thanks to anyone and everyone that helped out in the process, it was definitely a very tough job to put it all together but still glad to get it done!

Steve Sommerfeld - Ruler

Greg Schaaf - Indy

Pete Anderson - Stripper

Steve and Pete

Massive poster in Bali

Steve - Scooter Double can
The Snitz is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.

vBulletin® Copyright © 2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001-2008