Forum

Go Back   FreestyleMTX - #1 in FMX > Blogs > Chris Elliott's Blog

Canadian FMX Blogger
Rate this Entry

Poor ME....I am a pro.

Posted August 9th, 2009 at 09:30 PM by 939
Updated August 9th, 2009 at 09:32 PM by 939
Poor Me, I am a PRO!

So I am sitting here on a Sunday thinking F***!!! I have to go to work tomorrow and start the new work week. I have a good job, sometimes it gets stressful but it pays the bills and buys mx tires.

Before I tell you whats on my mind tonight I want to make this clear- I respect pro MX and FMX riders 110%. I know having to come up with new tricks, risk their lives, training, travel, photoshoots, being a part from love ones and entertaining can get stressful. Riding dirtbikes is their job!!! That's how they pay bills.

What pisses me off- *and it's not just pro motocycle riders*, is when all pro athletes drop the line... "I needed sometime off, the sport I love was becoming to be a job to me, not fun" Okay, these guy take some time of then... What do they do? Well,I think when pros take time off to relax and make riding fun again they should work a month of physical labour or a 9 to 5 desk job. "Riding is a becoming to be a job" Give me a break, waking up at 5am and going to lay asphalt in the 105 degree California sun is a job. Riding your dirtbike for a living is a blessing!!!!!!!!!!! Injuries and that is the risks of riding suck, but last time I checked people are injured and killed everyday doing all sorts of random things on the job. I dont wake up on Monday and say, "Damnit..gotta go to the airport, stupid X-fighters in Texas. I wake up Monday at 6am, put on my work boots, go to work, come home, watch some TV, check FreestyleMTX, get some sleep, and then do it all again. But you know what, that how I put gas in my dirtbike and come Saturday it is all worth it cause I ride.